“Institute of Hydrogeology and Hydrophysics named after U.M. Akhmedsafin” was established in 1965 by the Decree of the Council of Ministers of the Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic on the basis of the Department of Hydrogeology and Engineering Geology of the Institute of Geological Sciences named after K.I. Satpayev and the Department of Hydrogeology and Hydrothermics of Kazakhstan Institute of Mineral Raw Materials of the USSR State Geological Committee. In 1985 the Institute was named after U.M. Akhmedsafin who was a member of the Academy of Sciences of the Kazakh SSR, Hero of Socialist Labour and the first founder of hydrogeological science in Kazakhstan. The Institute of Hydrogeology and Hydrophysics was renamed as the Institute of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geoscience

in 2007. “Ahmedsafin Institute of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geoscience” Limited Liability Partnership was created as part of “Centre for Earth Sciences, Metallurgy and Ore Benefication” JSC by order of “CESMOB” JSC No. 133 dated October 22, 2007.

“Ahmedsafin Institute of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geoscience” LLP became a part of “Kazakh National Research Technical University named after K.I. Satpayev” Non-Profit Joint Stock Company in 2016.

Such famous hydrogeologists as Akhmedsafin U.M., Sydykov Zh.S., Mukhamedzhanov S.M., Shapiro S.M., Zhevago V.S., Zhaparkhanov S.Zh., Davletgaliyeva K. M., Shlygina V.F., Dzhabasov M.Kh., Kurmangaliyev R.M., Murtazin Zh.V., Ivanov V.N. et al. were at the origins of the establishment of the Institute.

The Institute created the first arid hydrogeology science in Kazakhstan, the development of which formed the basis for a number of government decrees focused on improving the water supply of certain regions of the country. The data of predictive estimates of groundwater were used in the development of long-term programs for industrial hydrogeological research, as well as projects for search and exploration of groundwater reserves.